Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe
Studentenhaus
Adenauerring 7
76131 Karlsruhe

Tel.: 0721 6909 - 0
Fax: 0721 6909 - 292


The environmental score: Transparency in terms of sustainability

Eat more environmentally conscious in the dining halls of the SW KA

The meal plan of the Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe contains the environmental score bases on the Eaternity database (EDB) and indicates with a star rating how climate-friendly the food is. The Eaternity Score is the first award for a future with climate-friendly food worldwide and is calculated together with scientific partners.

You can read the 3-star rating here.

Legend for the environmental score

The score shows the climate impact in four areas. First of all, an average score is calculated and displayed for each meal in the menu. This is calculated from the evaluations of the four areas of climate, water, animal welfare and rainforest, the evaluation of which can be seen in the detailed overview.


The detailed areas are rated with 0-3 stars. You can see this information on our meal plans for each meal.

Climate:
Stars are awarded depending on the amount of CO₂ emissions in grams. In the case of particularly low consumption (3 stars), the "climate plate" is also awarded.

Important: We evaluate the meals / products regardless of the portion size. This means that even if a portion is smaller, this does not automatically mean that the CO₂ emissions are lower.

Water:
Depending on the consumption in liters, 0-3 stars are awarded. Particularly low consumption is marked with 3 stars.

Animal welfare:
3 stars:  vegan/properly reared
2 stars:  partially certified
1 star:    No certification

Rainforest:
3 stars:  protected
2 stars:  partially protected
1 star:  not protected

You can read the detailed 3-star rating system here.

Note: We already calculated the environmental score for most of our meals and this is shown accordingly. However, it is constantly being updated and expanded.

Calculation of the average score

Here are two examples of how to calculate the average environmental score according to the 3-star rating system.
[RET
Zum Vergrößern die Tabelle anklicken.
Zum Vergrößern die Tabelle anklicken.


Auf- und Abrunden des durchschnittlichen Umwelt-Score:

> 0,5 = round up
< 0,49 = round down

Examples:
0,25 = round down to 0 stars
1,25 = round down to 1 star
1,5 = round up to 2 stars
1,75 = round up to 2 stars

What ist the climate plate?

The climate plate is a National Climate Protection Initiative project funded by the Federal Environment Ministry and its partner NAHhaft. A climate-friendly meal is awarded the climate plate if it causes at least 50% less CO2 than a comparable, average meal (3 stars). Students, employees and guests have the opportunity to choose their food according to the aspect of climate friendliness and to be made aware of the connection between climate change and nutrition. You will be motivated to eat (more) climate-friendly in the dining hall and also to cook more climate-friendly in your private life.

The overarching goal is to reduce the emissions of the nutrition sector in the area of communal catering by NAHhaft supporting and accompanying the Studierendenwerke (STW) throughout Germany in making their food offer more climate-friendly.

Where does the data come from?

Details on the Eaternity Database (EDB)

The EDB contains CO₂eq. values and standard processes for all common foods on the basis of seasonality, cultivation methods, transport, preservation and processing models. The developed greenhouse model determines the CO₂eq emissions related to the heating of greenhouses in both, organic and traditional farming. The individual food CO₂eq values are the result of our collaboration with scientists from ZHAW – Zurich University of Applied Sciences and Quantis – World Food Database, University of Zürich (UZH), Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (ETHZ), Research Institute of Organic Agriculture (FiBL), ecoinvent v3.6, Agribalyse, Agri-footprint, peer-reviewed literature, reports (grey literature), extrapolated; or they are based on our own research subsequently adjusted to assure comparability. The EDB is currently the largest and most comprehensive database to carry out CO₂eq calculations for food produce worldwide. The EDB also contains the Eaternity Health and Organic performance. It comprises of nutritional values, water scarcity footprint, and our Health Score for the assessment of the health risk factors of your food consumption.

You can find more information on the Eaternity CO2-Footprint here:
https://eaternity.org/foodprint/


Home » Meals » Sustainability » Environmental score
http://www.sw-ka.de/en/essen/nachhaltigkeit/umwelt-score/

Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe
Studentenhaus
Adenauerring 7
76131 Karlsruhe

Tel.: 0721 6909 - 0
Fax: 0721 6909 - 292


Der Umwelt-Score: Transparenz in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit

Umweltbewusster essen in den Mensen des Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe

Ab sofort ist in den Speiseplänen des Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe ein Umwelt-Score angegeben. Er basiert auf der Eaternity-Datenbank (EDB) und gibt mit einer Sterne-Bewertung an, wie klimafreundlich die Speisen pro Gericht sind. Dieser Eaternity-Score ist die erste Auszeichnung für eine Zukunft mit klimafreundlichen Lebensmitteln weltweit und wird zusammen mit Partnern aus der Wissenschaft errechnet.


Legende zum Umwelt-Score

Der Score bildet in vier Bereichen die Klimabelastung ab. Zunächst wird in den Speiseplänen zu jedem Gericht ein Durchschnittsscore errechnet und angezeigt. Dieser errechnet sich aus den Bewertungen der vier Bereiche Klima, Wasser, Tierwohl und Regenwald, deren Bewertung in der Detailübersicht einzusehen ist.


In den Detailbereichen wird mit 0-3 Sternen bewertet. Diese Informationen können auf unseren Speiseplänen pro Gericht eingesehen werden.

Klima:
Je nach Höhe der CO₂-Emissionen in Gramm werden Sterne vergeben. Bei besonders niedrigem Verbrauch (3 Sterne) wird zusätzlich der "Klimateller" verliehen.

Wichtig: Wir bewerten die Gerichte/Produkte unabhängig von der Portionsgröße. Das heißt, auch wenn eine Portion kleiner ist, bedeutet dies nicht automatisch, dass die CO₂-Emissionen geringer ausfallen.

Wasser:
Je nach Verbrauch in Liter werden 0-3 Sterne vergeben. Besonders niedriger Verbrauch ist mit 3 Sternen gekennzeichnet.

Tierwohl:
3 Sterne:  vegan/artgerecht
2 Sterne:  teilweise zertifiziert
1 Stern:    keine Zertifizierung

Regenwald:
3 Sterne:  geschützt
2 Sterne:  teilweise geschützt
1 Stern:  nicht geschützt

Das ausführliche 3-Sterne-Bewertungssystem können Sie hier einsehen.

Anmerkung: Für die meisten unserer Speisen wurde der Umwelt-Score bereits berechnet und wird entsprechend ausgewiesen. Dieser wird jedoch ständig aktualisiert und erweitert.

Berechnung Durchschnittsscore

Hier finden Sie zwei Beispiele zur Berechnung des durchschnittlichen Umwelt-Score gemäß dem 3-Sterne-Bewertungssystem.

Zum Vergrößern die Tabelle anklicken.
Zum Vergrößern die Tabelle anklicken.


Auf- und Abrunden des durchschnittlichen Umwelt-Score:

> 0,50 = aufrunden
< 0,49 = abrunden

Beispiele:
0,25 = abrunden auf 0 Sterne
1,25 = abrunden auf 1 Stern
1,50 = aufrunden auf 2 Sterne
1,75 = aufrunden auf 2 Sterne

Was ist der Klimateller?

Der KlimaTeller ist eine Initiative des gemeinnützigen NAHhaft e.V.

Ein klimafreundliches Gericht wird mit dem KlimaTeller ausgezeichnet, wenn es mindestens 50% weniger CO2-Emissionen als ein vergleichbares Gericht verursacht (3 Sterne). Studierende, Mitarbeiter/-innen und Gäste erhalten so die Möglichkeit, ihr Essen nach dem Aspekt der Klimafreundlichkeit auszuwählen und über den Zusammenhang von Klimawandel und Ernährung aufgeklärt zu werden. Ziel ist es, in der Mensa klimafreundlicher zu essen und dies auch auf das Kochen zu Hause zu übertragen.


Wo kommen die Daten her?

Details zur Eaternity-Datenbank (EDB)

Die Eaternity-Datenbank (EDB) enthält CO₂äq. Werte und Einheitsprozesse für alle gängigen Lebensmittel auf der Grundlage von Saisonabhängigkeit, Anbauverfahren, Transport, Konservierung und Verarbeitungsmodellen. Hier wurde ein Treibhausmodell entwickelt, das die CO₂äq. Emissionen im Zusammenhang mit der Beheizung von Gewächshäusern sowohl in der biologischen als auch in der traditionellen Landwirtschaft bestimmt. Die einzelnen Werte für CO₂äq. sind das Ergebnis einer Zusammenarbeit mit Wissenschaftlern der ZHAW - Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften und Quantis - World Food Database, Universität Zürich (UZH), Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich (ETHZ), Forschungsinstitut für biologischen Landbau (FiBL), ecoinvent v3.6, Agribalyse, Agrifootprint, Peer-Review-Literatur, Berichte (graue Literatur), extrapoliert; oder basieren auf Eaternity-eigenen Recherchen, die nachträglich angepasst wurden, um die Vergleichbarkeit zu gewährleisten. Die EDB ist derzeit die größte und umfassendste Datenbank, die CO₂äq. Berechnungen für Lebensmittelprodukte weltweit durchführt. Sie umfasst Nährwerte, den Fußabdruck der Wasserknappheit und unseren Health Score zur Bewertung der gesundheitlichen Risikofaktoren Ihres Nahrungsmittelkonsums.

Weitere Informationen zum Eaternity CO2-Footprint auch unter:
https://eaternity.org/foodprint/


Startseite » Essen » Nachhaltigkeit » Umwelt-Score
http://www.sw-ka.de/de/essen/nachhaltigkeit/umwelt-score/