German-French-Polish Student Exchange

The German-French-Polish Student Exchange between the Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe, CROUS Strabourg, and Politechnika Gdańska is organized every two years! 15 students from 3 countries visited the three institutions and deepen the "Internationalization at home" theme through workshops. The meeting was promoted by the German-French and the German-Polish Youth Office!

The goal was to show internationalization on site. Why is mobility among young adults important and how can meetings and exchanges between Poland, Germany and France best be organized? Participants understood the cultural similarities and differences through intercultural workshops in the city and on campus.

More information: isc@sw-ka.de

eucor in-country and overseas exchange

EUCOR, according to the European Confederation of Universities on the Upper Rhine, is an international cooperation that combines the universities in the Upper Rhine and was established in 1989. The universities that are part of the cooperation are:
• Universität Basel,
• Universität Oberelsass (Mulhouse-Colmar),
• Universität Straßburg,
• Universität Freiburg,
• Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (Karlsruhe)

The aim is to strengthen cooperation at all levels, especially for students. This means that KIT students can attend lectures in these universities and collected ECTS credits, which are also recognized by KIT. The students can not only attend lectures, but can also profit from areas of joint studies.

Further information can be found at the International Students Office (IStO) at KIT: http://www.intl.kit.edu/ostudent/3602.php

Accommodation in Karlsruhe

The Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe is managing 22 student residences with 2790 rooms in Karlsruhe and Pforzheim. We also offer a private accommodation service.

This applies to the landlord and the tenant.
• Landlords can place their ads commission-free under 0721 6 90 91 92.
• Students can find the ads in Studentenhaus, Adenauerring 7, Karlsruhe, right wing, basement.

More information under:
http://www.sw-ka.de/fr/wohnen

Affordable meals for students at the dining halls and cafeterias of the Studierendenwerk
Dining Hall Am Adenauerring and Dining Hall Moltke offer a variety of different and cheap meals. In the cafeterias we also offer you various types of coffee, cakes, snacks and much more.

Other offers, opening hours, and prices can be found here:
http://www.sw-ka.de/fr/essen

Transport in Karlsruhe

The student ticket allows students to move easily in Karlsruhe by bus, tram, city and regional train. The Karlsruhe Transport Authority (KVV) and the Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe offers the student ticket especially to EUCOR-students.

More information under:
http://www.sw-ka.de/fr/internationales/studi-ticket/
E-Mail: isc@sw-ka.de

Job market

Students should not be discouraged from studying because of lack of funds. There are ways to cover the cost of study. For example:
• BAföG (student loan under the Federal Education and Training Assistance Act)
• loans for students
• scholarships for students
• graduation and short term loans
• jobs

We offer this job board for students who are looking for work in Karlsruhe:
http://www.sw-ka.de/fr/finanzen/jobboard

International Student Center

The ISC is a counselling office for German and International students. We offer advice and support on all matters relating to studies (eg. accommodation, scholarships). You can participate in a multitude of events. Among other things, we offer an introduction program for new students each semester. There are monthly excursions, evening events, exchange programs, cultural events, cultural booklets, student tickets, and intercultural workshops.

Further information under:
International Student Center, Adenauerring 7, 76131 Karlsruhe
Phone: 0721 - 6909 – 204
Mail: isc@sw-ka.de

USA internship program

The USA internship program was established as a collaboration between Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe and Virginia Tech. The 3-month-program offers American students from Virginia Tech the possibility to gain experience in the international field in Germany.
  • Counselling on all study-related matters for German and International students (in German and English language)
    Areas of counselling: language courses, initial counselling (housing, finance), tandem language partner, KVV semester ticket, cultural booklet
  • Complementary translations of information material into English
  • Helping organizing events (excursions, cultural trips, exchange programs, international evenings)
  • Organization and development of an English mini course

Target group
Students with a major in German and International Relations from Virginia Tech with good to very good knowledge of German

Contact
Additional information can be received under isc@sw-ka.de

German-French Voluntary Service

A charitable and personal commitment

Gain new experience, work for others, do charitable work: these are the main pillars of the German-French Voluntary Service. The German-French Voluntary Service is based on reciprocity and works on a tandem model. This means that German and French volunteers are sent to the respective partner country at the same time. The tandems meet during joint training sessions. The volunteer service tasks are neither work nor honorary. The tasks require in particular a strong social commitment.

More information can be found here.

Internship program of the city of Karlsruhe – students from the partner cities complete an internship at the Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe

The city of Karlsruhe is managing a multicultural project with students from the partner cities every year in August. The internships are at the municipality or other cultural institutions and is partially financed by the German-French Youth Office. The participants are from the partner cities Nottingham, Halle, Krasnodar and Temeswar sowie Rijeka and Lublin.

The Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe offered an internship to Ms. Daria Pavelescu from Temeswar in 2016. She worked at the International Student Center from August 1st to 26th. She had the opportunity to learn about the work of a public institution, to extend her German language skills, to get to know the city of Karlsruhe and its surroundings and to get acquainted with the German culture. She worked on projects, helped build a partnership with the Technical University of Temeswar and got to know the other areas of the Studierendenwerk.

Other programs:

  • Mexico RA Symposium
  • China Shanghai Food Culture Days Jiao Tong University
  • France Internship Program CROUS Straßburg
  • Italy Excange Villa Finally Florence
  • Russia Exchange Nishnevartovsk State University of Humanities




=


Contact
International Student Center
Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe
Foyer at the Am Adenauerring Dining Hall
Adenauerring 7
76131 Karlsruhe

Opening Hours
Monday - Friday 10:00 - 14:00
Phone: 0721 - 6909 - 204
isc@sw-ka.de

Contact person
Iris Buchmann

Deutsch-Französisch-Polnische Studierendenbegegnung

Die Deutsch-Französisch-Polnische Studierendenbegegnung zwischen dem Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe, dem CROUS Strasbourg und der Politechnika Gdańska findet alle 2 Jahre statt! 15 Studierende aus den drei Ländern Deutschland, Frankreich und Polen lernen die drei beteiligten Institutionen vor Ort kennen und vertiefen durch Workshops zu bestimmten Themen ihr Wissen und ihre interkulturellen Kompetenzen. Gefördert wird das Treffen vom Deutsch-Französischen und Deutsch-Polnischen Jugendwerk.

Ziel des Austauschs ist es, die Internationalisierung vor Ort zu zeigen und Themen wie Mobilität in Europa zu diskutieren. Die Teilnehmer*innen lernen hautnah kulturelle Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede vor Ort durch sportliche und interkulturelle Workshops in der jeweiligen Stadt und auf dem Campus kennen. Dabei werden auch Fragen wie z. B. Mobilität diskutiert: Warum ist Mobilität bei jungen Erwachsenen wichtig? Wie können Austausch und Begegnungen zwischen Polen, Deutschland und Frankreich am besten gestaltet werden?

Eindrücke der Deutsch-Französisch-Polnischen Studierendenbegegnung 2015 gibt es hier als Video.

Mehr Information erhalten Sie unter: isc@sw-ka.de

EUCOR - The European Campus

EUCOR, gemäß der EU-Konföderation der Universitäten am Oberrhein, ist eine Kooperation, die die Universitäten am Oberrhein vereint und im Jahr 1989 gegründet wurde. Die Universitäten, die der Kooperation gehören, sind:
• Universität Basel,
• Universität Oberelsass (Mulhouse-Colmar),
• Universität Straßburg,
• Universität Freiburg,
• Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (Karlsruhe)

Das Ziel ist die Zusammenarbeit auf allen Ebenen zu stärken, vor allem für die Studierenden. Das bedeutet, dass die Studierenden des KIT Vorlesungen in diesen Universitäten besuchen können und die ECTS-Punkten, die dort gesammelt werden, werden auch vom KIT anerkannt. Die Studierenden können nicht nur Vorlesungen besuchen, aber auch aus den Bereichen gemeinsamer Studien, die vorgesehen sind, profitieren.

Sie finden weitere Informationen im International Students Office (IStO) am KIT: http://www.intl.kit.edu/ostudent/3602.php

Wohnungen in Karlsruhe

Das Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe verwaltet 22 Wohnungen mit 2790 Wohnplätzen in Karlsruhe und Pforzheim. Wir bieten auch einen Wohnungsmarkt für die Vermietung von Privatzimmern an.

Dies gilt für den Eigentümer und den Mieter.
• Wohnungsbesitzer können unter der Telefonnummer 0721 6909 192 anrufen und Ihre Angebote ohne Provision angeben..
• Die Studierenden können die Anzeigen im Studentenhaus (Adenauerring 7, Karlsruhe, rechtes Untergeschoss) finden.

Mehr Informationen finden Sie unter:
http://www.sw-ka.de/fr/wohnen

Preiswertes Essen für Studierenden in den Mensen und Cafeterien des Studierendenwerks
Mensa Am Adenauerring und Mensa Moltke bieten eine Vielfalt von verschiedenen und billigen Mahlzeiten. Wir bieten Ihnen in den Cafeterien auch verschiedene Arten von Kaffee, Kuchen, Snacks und vieles mehr.

Sie finden weitere Angebote, Öffnungszeiten und Preise unter:
http://www.sw-ka.de/fr/essen

Transport in Karlsruhe

Das Studi-Ticket ermöglicht den Studierenden, sich bequem in Karlsruhe mit Bus, Tram, Straßenbahn und Regionalzug zu bewegen. Der KVV (Karlsruher Verkehrsverbund) und das Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe bieten speziell den EUCOR-Studierenden das Studi-Ticket an.

Mehr Informationen finden Sie unter:
http://www.sw-ka.de/fr/internationales/studi-ticket/
E-Mail: isc@sw-ka.de

Arbeitsmarkt

Studierende sollten wegen fehlenden finanziellen Mitteln nicht vom Studium abgehalten werden.
Es gibt Möglichkeiten, um die Kosten des Studiums zu decken. Zum Beispiel:
• BAföG (Bundesausblidungsförderung)
• Darlehen für Studierende
• Stipendium für Studierende
• Kurzfrist- oder Abschlussdarlehen
• Arbeiten

Wir bieten dieses Portal für Studierenden, die in Karlsruhe Arbeit suchen:
http://www.sw-ka.de/fr/finanzen/jobboard

International Student Center

Das ISC ist ein Beratungsbüro für deutsche und internationale Studierende. Wir bieten Beratung und Betreuung in allen wichtigen Angelegenheiten rund ums Studium (z.B. Wohnung, Stipendien). Sie können in einer Vielzahl von Programmen teilnehmen. Unter anderen bieten wir jedes Semester ein Einführungsprogramm für neue Studierende. Es gibt monatliche Ausflüge, Abendveranstaltungen, Austauschprogramme, kulturelle Veranstaltungen, Kulturscheckheft, Studi-Ticket und interkultureller Workshop.

Weitere Informationen unter:
International Student Center, Adenauerring 7, 76131 Karlsruhe
Tel: 0721 - 6909 – 204
Mail: isc@sw-ka.de

USA-Praktikantenprogramm

Das USA-Praktikantenprogramm wird vom Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe in Zusammenarbeit mit der amerikanischen Universität Virginia Tech angeboten. Das Programm bietet amerikanischen Studierenden die Möglichkeit für 3 Monate erste Erfahrungen im internationalen Bereich in Deutschland zu sammeln.
  • Beratung rund ums Studieren von deutschen und internationalen Studierenden (in deutscher und englischer Sprache)
    Beratungsbereiche: Sprachkurse, Erst-Beratung (Wohnen, Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten), Tandem-Sprachpartner, KVV Semesterticket, Kulturscheckheft
  • Begleitende Übersetzung von Informationen und Materialien in englischer Sprache
  • Unterstützung bei der Organisation des Veranstaltungsprogrammes (Exkursionen, Kulturfahrten, Austauschprogramm, internationales Abende)
  • Organisation und Durchführungen eines Mini-Kurses „Englisch für Anfänger“

Zielgruppe
Studierende der Fachrichtung Deutsch oder Internationale Beziehungen von der Virginia Tech mit guten bis sehr guten Deutschkenntnissen

Kontakt
Ausführliche Programminformationen erhalten Sie unter isc@sw-ka.de

Deutsch-Französischer Freiwilligendienst

Ein gemeinnütziges und persönliches Engagement

Neue Erfahrungen sammeln, sich für andere einsetzen, gemeinnützige Arbeit leisten: Das sind die Hauptpfeiler des Deutsch-Französischen Freiwilligendienstes. Der Deutsch-Französische Freiwilligendienst basiert auf Gegenseitigkeit und funktioniert nach dem Tandemmodell. Das bedeutet, dass deutsche und französische Freiwillige gleichzeitig ins jeweilige Partnerland entsendet werden. Bei den gemeinsamen Fortbildungen begegnen sich die Tandems. Bei den Aufgaben im Rahmen des Freiwilligendienstes handelt es sich weder um eine Erwerbstätigkeit noch um ein Ehrenamt. Die Aufgaben verlangen insbesondere ein starkes soziales Engagement.

Mehr Informationen unter: www.volotariat.ofaj.org

Arbeitsaufenthalt von Studierenden aus den Partnerstädten der Stadt Karlsruhe im Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe

Die Stadt Karlsruhe führt jedes Jahr im August ein multikulturelles Projekt mit Studierenden aus den Partnerstädten durch. Das Praktikum wird bei der Stadtverwaltung Karlsruhe oder anderen kulturellen Einrichtungen absolviert und wird teilweise vom Deutsch-Französischen Jugendwerk gefördert. Die teilnehmenden Studierenden kommen aus den Partnerstädte Nottingham, Halle, Krasnodar, und Temeswar sowie Rijeka und Lublin her.

Im Jahr 2016 hat das Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe eine Praktikantin, Frau Daria Pavelescu, aus Temeswar empfangen. Sie hat vom 1. bis 26. August 2016 einen Aufenthalt in unserem International Student Center absolviert. Sie hatte die Gelegenheit die Arbeit einer Anstalt des öffentlichen Rechts kennenzulernen, ihre deutschen Sprachkenntnisse zu verbessern, die Stadt Karlsruhe und die Umgebung zu erkunden und sich mit der deutschen Lebensart vertraut zu machen. Dabei hat Sie bei den Projekten im International Student Center mitzuwirken, den Aufbau unserer Partnerschaft mit der Technischen Universität Temeswar zu unterstützen sowie auch die anderen Bereiche des Studierendenwerks kennenzulernen.

Weitere Programme:

  • Mexiko RA Tutoren Symposium
  • China Shanghai Ess Kulturtage Jiao Tong University
  • Frankreich Praktikantenprogramm CROUS Straßburg
  • Italien Austausch Villa Finally Florenz
  • Russland Austausch Staatliche Universität Nishnewartowsk




=


Kontakt
International Student Center
Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe
Mensa-Foyer der
Mensa Am Adenauering
Adenauerring 7
76131 Karlsruhe

Öffnungszeiten
Mo. bis Fr. 10:00 - 14:00 Uhr
Tel.: 0721 6909-204
isc@sw-ka.de

Ansprechpartner
Iris Buchmann