International RA Symposium

There are social, cultural and sports activities in dormitories in many countries, often the residents themselves are active as residence advisors. In order to promote exchange, gain new experiences and cooperate on an international level especially for coordinators, so the international symposium on residence advisors was developed. The topics of the symposium are the differences and similarities of student housing in Germany, USA, Mexico, France, Russia and other countries. In addition, of course, the participants visit also student residences!

The "International Symposium for Residence Advisors (RA)" took place from 23.-27. September 2019 in Karlsruhe. In addition to the exchange of experiences, the RA and coordinators from the participating countries had the opportunity to get to know each other better during an improvisational theater workshop. In addition, the group also visited one of the student residences the Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe. In addition, there were two trips to Strasbourg to the CROUS and to the Studierendenwerk Heidelberg organized for the participants. Participants were able to gather impressions from the three facilities and exchange views with employees from different departments beyond the housing department.

Japan

On March 2nd, 2021, a digital meeting took place with a project team from Japan, which focuses on the educational approach of the resident advisor programs and the life in student residences. The meeting with the Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe helped to gain an insight into the higher education system in Germany and to get to know the work of the Studierendenwerk and the resident advisor programs.

Participants form Japan were:

  • Yukiko Abe, Associate Professor, Osaka University
  • Yuki Mochizuki, Professor, Nihon University
  • Tomoko Higurashi, Associate Professor, Mejiro University
  • Shinichi Cho, Assistant Professor, Hiroshima University
  • Kiyoko Uematsu, Assistant Professor, Yokohama National University
  • Yasuko Kitazawa, Academic Affairs Officer, Reitaku University
  • Mizuno-Hayashi Takako, Deputy Manager, Tokyo University
  • Atsuko Kuronuma, Doctoral student, Tokyo University

Mexico

As part of its partnership, the International Student Center, together with the Residencias Tec department of the Tec de Monterrey University, hosted two online events for new resident advisors in Monterrey in 2020. The main topics were the university system in Germany, the structures and offers of the Studierendenwerk, as well as student life and the resident advisor program.

China

As a measure for internationalization, the German-Chinese cook exchange between the Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe and the Jiao Tong University from Shanghai has been taking place for ten years now. During the ten years, other institutions have also taken part in this exchange: from Germany the Studierendenwerke Freiburg and Frankfurt am Main, from France CROUS Strasbourg and Paris. The tri-national exchange is not only an enrichment for the employees of the facilities, but also for the students. Just as the German and International students enjoyed the Chineses food in the dining hall am Adenauerring, so have the Chinese students looked forward to a schnitzel or crepe in Shanghai.




=

International RA Symposium

Soziale, kulturelle und sportliche Aktivitäten im Wohnheim gibt es in vielen Ländern, oft sind hier die Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner als WH-Tutoren selbst aktiv. Für den Erfahrungsaustausch und die internationale Kooperation, insbesondere der KoordinatorInnen, wird das internationale Symposium zu WohnheimtutorInnenprogrammen arrangiert. Themen der Symposien sind die Unterschiede und Gemeinsamkeiten studentischen Wohnens in Deutschland, den USA, Mexiko, Frankreich, Russland und anderen Ländern. Und natürlich werden auch Wohnheime besucht!

Das "International Symposium for Residence Advisors" fand vom 23.-27. September 2019 in Karlsruhe statt. Neben dem Erfahrungsaustausch hatten die TutorInnen und KoordinatorInnen aus den teilnehmenden Ländern die Möglichkeit, sich bei einem Improvisationstheater näher kennenzulernen. Außerdem hat die Gruppe auch eines der Wohnheime des Studierendenwerks Karlsruhe besucht. Des Weiteren wurden zwei Ausflüge nach Straßburg zum CROUS, sowie zum Studierendenwerk Heidelberg organisiert. Die TeilnehmerInnen konnten reichlich Eindrücke aus den drei Einrichtungen sammeln und sich mit Mitarbeitern und Mitarbeiterinnen aus unterschiedlichen Abteilungen über die Wohnheimabteilung hinaus austauschen.

Japan

Am 2. März 2021 fand ein digitales Treffen mit einem Projektteam aus Japan statt, welches sich auf den pädagogischen Ansatz der WohnheimtutorInnenprogramme konzentriert und mit dem Leben in studentischen Wohnheimen auseinandersetzt. Das Treffen mit dem Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe hat sowohl dazu beigetragen, einen Einblick in das Hochschulsystem in Deutschland zu erlangen, als auch die Arbeit der Studierendenwerke und die WohnheimtutorInnenprogramme kennenzulernen.

TeilnehmerInnen aus Japan waren:

  • Yukiko Abe, Associate Professor, Osaka University
  • Yuki Mochizuki, Professor, Nihon University
  • Tomoko Higurashi, Associate Professor, Mejiro University
  • Shinichi Cho, Assistant Professor, Hiroshima University
  • Kiyoko Uematsu, Assistant Professor, Yokohama National University
  • Yasuko Kitazawa, Academic Affairs Officer, Reitaku University
  • Mizuno-Hayashi Takako, Deputy Manager, Tokyo University
  • Atsuko Kuronuma, Doctoral student, Tokyo University

Mexiko

Im Rahmen seiner Partnerschaft hat das International Student Center, zusammen mit der Abteilung Residencias Tec der Universität Tec de Monterrey, 2020 zwei Online-Veranstaltungen für neue WohnheimtutorInnen in Monterrey veranstaltet. Vorgestellt wurde das Hochschulsystem, die Strukturen und Angebote des Studierendenwerks, sowie das studentische Leben und das WohnheimtutorInnenprogramm.

China

Als Maßnahme für die Internationalisierung findet seit nun zehn Jahren der Deutsch-Chinesische Köche-Austausch zwischen dem Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe und der Jiao Tong Universität aus Shanghai statt. In den zehn Jahren haben sich auch andere Institutionen an diesem Austausch beteiligt: aus Deutschland die Studierendenwerke Freiburg und Frankfurt am Main, aus Frankreich CROUS Strasbourg und Paris. Der trinationale Austausch ist nicht nur eine Bereicherung für die Beschäftigten der Einrichtungen, sondern auch für die Studierenden. So wie sich die deutschen und internationalen Studierenden in der Mensa Am Adenauerring über das von chinesischen Köchen gezaubertes Essen freuen, so freuen sich die chinesischen Studierenden in Shanghai auf ein Schnitzel oder Crêpe.




=