Welcome to our Resident Assistant Program

New beginnings are always difficult! As an international student, it is not always easy to find one’s way in new surroundings, and support of any kind is welcomed. The international students in residence halls are supervised and supported by residence assistants.

The residence assistants are points of contact for international residents if they have concerns, problems, or questions. The work of the resident assistants contributes to the improvement of living conditions and integration of the international students. The resident assistants also organize cultural events to strengthen the sense of community and achieve successful integration.

The resident assistants are guided and supported by the staff of the International Student Center. An intercultural workshop is organized each semester for the resident assistants. The topics of the training include intercultural communication, awareness, conflict resolution, and personal experience. The resident assistants gain basic knowledge about working with international students, and can exchange personal experiences with one another.

Student dorm dictionary

Living at a student dorm – an illustrated dictionary

Are you an international student who just arrived in Germany?
Don’t want to carry a dictionary with you?
Try the illustrated dictionary as an app for your smartphone, which will make your life easier!

More information can be found here.

Illustrated dictionary in PDF:

German, Chinese and English

German, French and Spanish

German, French and Arabic

German, Polish and Russian

Health dictionary

First Aid – an illustrated health dictionary: information for foreign students in Germany

From A to Z – the illustrated health dictionary contains general overview information in German and English for foreign students. There is information about health insurance and going to the doctor. Facts and vocabulary are explained through dialogues, short texts, and scenes on the campus: package inserts, wire transfer, vaccination cards etc. The dictionary was designed by graphic designer Florian Geppert, who also designed the “Living in a student dorm – an illustrated dictionary”.

Health dictionary in PDF:

German - English




=


Contact
International Student Center
Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe
Am Adenauering Dining Hall
Adenauerring 7
76131 Karlsruhe

Mail:isc@sw-ka.de

Contact person
Iris Buchmann

Willkommen zu unserem Tutorenprogramm

Aller Anfang ist schwer! Als internationaler Studierender hat man es nicht einfach sich in einer neuen Umgebung zurechtzufinden, dabei ist jede Unterstützung willkommen. In den Wohnheimen werden die internationalen Studierende von den Tutoren betreut und unterstützt.

Die Tutoren werden als Ansprechpartner für die internationalen Wohnheimtutoren gesehen und erweisen die erste Hilfe bei Sorgen, Probleme oder Fragen. Mit ihrer Arbeit sollen die Tutoren zur Verbesserung der Lebensbedingungen und Integration internationaler Studierende beitragen. Nebenbei organisieren die Tutoren auch kulturelle Veranstaltungen, um den Gemeinschaftssinn zu stärken und eine erfolgreiche Integration zu erzielen. (siehe Infomaterial).

Die Wohnheimtutoren werden durch die Koordination des International Student Center geleitet und unterstützt. Jedes Semester wird für die Tutoren ein interkultureller Workshop veranstaltet. Im interkulturellen Training geht es um Themen wie Interkulturelle Kommunikation, Sensibilisierung, Konfliktlösung und Beispiele aus der Tutorenarbeit. Die Tutoren erhalten Grundkenntnisse im Umgang mit internationalen Studierenden, dabei tauschen sich die Tutoren untereinander aus und lernen aus eigenen Erfahrungen.

Illustriertes Wohnheimwörterbuch

Illustriertes Wohnheimwörterbuch

Du bist ein internationaler Student und gerade erst in Karlsruhe angekommen?
Du hast keine Lust dauernd ein Wörterbuch mit dir herumzuschleppen?
Dann versuch es mal mit der illustrierten Wohnheimwörterbuch-App für dein Smartphone, die dir das Leben ungemein erleichtern wird!

Mehr Informationen findest du hier: Wohnheimwörterbuch.

Wohnheimwörterbuch als PDF:

Deutsch, Chinesisch und Englisch

Deutsch, Französisch und Spanisch

Deutsch, Französisch und Arabisch

Deutsch, Polnisch and Russisch

Gesundheitswörterbuch

Erste Hilfe - Illustriertes Gesundheitswörterbuch: Hinweise für ausländische Studierende in Deutschland

Von A wie Apotheke bis Z wie Zuzahlung – das Gesundheitswörterbuch gibt allgemeine Überblicksinformationen auf Deutsch und Englisch für ausländische Studierende. Es geht u.a. um Krankenversicherung, Arztbesuch und Attest. In Dialogen, kurzen Texte und Szenen auf dem Campus werden Sachverhalte und Vokabeln erklärt: Beipackzettel, Überweisung, Impfausweis. Gestaltet hat das Gesundheitswörterbuch der Grafiker Florian Geppert, der auch schon das „Wohnheimwörterbuch“ illustriert hat.

Gesundheitswörterbuch als PDF:

Deutsch - Englisch







Kontakt
International Student Center
Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe
Mensa-Foyer der Mensa Am Adenauering
Adenauerring 7
76131 Karlsruhe

Mail: isc@sw-ka.de

Ansprechpartner
Laura Oprea