Legal Accident Insurance

Students are insured while studying or training at a University just as employees are insured against accidents at work (SGB VII). However, accident insurance will only cover students if an accident occurs on the University campus or on the direct way to or from the University. They are also covered when they are at University sports events. Only personal injuries are covered.

For Internships abroad, there are different requirements. The event or measure must be handled by the German University. This is required because the organizational responsibility of the University also covers studying abroad, because the university organized, monitored and preformed the study abroad.
However, the students are free to decide whether, when, and what facilities they will use when studying abroad as they apply to the context of their studies. The programs are not chosen based on a “doctorate law” from the university. Therefore there is no accident insurance coverage beyond the statutory accident insurance.

For college internships there is no direct influence from the college on the carrying out or running of the internship. The students are divided based on the operation of the internship companies. For these students the accident insurance is the responsibility of the institution responsible for the internship.







Contact

Information and application forms:
International Student Center
Foyer of the Am Adenauerring Dining Hall
Adenauerring 7
76131 Karlsruhe

Opening hours:
Mon - Fri 10:00 - 14:00

Specific questions:
Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe
Studentenhaus Room 242
Petra Prasse - Neppl
Adenauerring 7
76131 Karlsruhe
Phone 0721 6909-119
Fax 0721 6909-116
petra.prasse-neppl@sw-ka.de

Opening hours:
Tue - Thu 9:00 - 12:00 and 13:30 - 15:00

Gesetzliche Unfallversicherung

Studierende sind während der Aus- und Fortbildung an Hochschulen wie Arbeitnehmer gegen einen Arbeitsunfall (SGB VII) versichert. Jedoch tritt die gesetzliche Unfallversicherung grundsätzlich nur ein, wenn sich Unfälle auf dem Hochschulgelände oder auf dem direkten Weg zu oder von der Hochschule ereignen. Ebenso sind sie bei Veranstaltungen des Allgemeinen Hochschulsports gesetzlich unfallversichert. Es sind nur Personenschäden versichert.

Bei Auslandspraktika ist zusätzliche Voraussetzung für den Versicherungsschutz, dass es sich um eine ins Ausland ausstrahlende Maßnahme oder Veranstaltung der deutschen Hochschule handeln muss. Erforderlich ist hierfür, dass der organisatorische Verantwortungsbereich der Hochschule auch die Durchführung der dem Studium dienenden Verrichtungen im Ausland erfasst und die Hochschule den Auslandsaufenthalt organisiert, überwacht und durchführt.
Steht es dem Studierenden dagegen frei, ob, wann und welche Einrichtungen im Ausland für die Anfertigung von Arbeiten im Rahmen des Studiums besucht werden, geschieht dies nicht aufgrund eines „Direktionsrechts“ der Hochschule. Über die gesetzliche Unfallversicherung besteht daher hier kein Unfallversicherungsschutz.

Bei Hochschulpraktika besteht kein unmittelbarer Einfluss der Hochschule auf die Art und Weise der Durchführung sowie auf den Ablauf der Praktika. Die Studierenden gliedern sich in den Betriebsablauf des Praktikumsunternehmens ein. Für sie besteht gesetzlicher Unfallversicherungsschutz über den für das Praktikumsunternehmen zuständigen Unfallversicherungsträger.







Kontakt

Information und Anträge:
International Student Center
Foyer der Mensa Am Adenauerring
Adenauerring 7
76131 Karlsruhe

Öffnungszeiten:
Montag bis Freitag 10:00 - 14:00 Uhr

Fachfragen:
Studierendenwerk Karlsruhe
Studentenhaus Zi. 242
Petra Prasse - Neppl
Adenauerring 7
76131 Karlsruhe
Telefon 0721 6909-119
Telefax 0721 6909-116
petra.prasse-neppl@sw-ka.de

Öffnungszeiten:
Dienstag bis Donnerstag 9:00 - 12:00 Uhr und 13:30 - 15:00 Uhr